Point of interest: Vehicle tower

The place for 280 pieces of jewellery.

All vehicles produced in the Transparent Factory are stored in our 40-meter high vehicle tower after completion. There is room for 280 vehicles on 16 levels with up to 20 "compartments". The logistics in the tower are fully electronic, with two storage and two retrieval locks. This makes it possible to bring vehicles into and out of the tower in parallel.

Architecturally, the tower, like the rest of the manufactory, is completely covered with glass, thus offering unique perspectives on the final result of our work. The majority of the vehicles stored in the tower will also be handed over to their new owners in the Transparent Factory. The other e-Golf*, after the necessary transport protection measures have been taken, are sent via logistics routes to trading partners worldwide.

Since not only the e-Golf* can be picked up by customers in Dresden, the attentive observer will also be able to discover one or two Volkswagen models in the vehicle tower. After all, customers for other Volkswagen models can also pick up their new vehicle in Dresden in an emotional pickup. Of course, the vehicles are not produced here, but are delivered to Dresden specifically for this purpose.

*e-Golf: Power consumption combined 13,8 - 12,9 kWh/100 km - CO2 emissions in g/km: 0 combined - efficiency class: A+

Erlebnispunkt: Fahrzeugturm

Der Platz für 280 Schmuckstücke.

Alle in der Gläsernen Manufaktur produzierten Fahrzeuge werden nach Fertigstellung in unserem 40 Meter hohen Fahrzeugturm eingelagert. Auf 16 Ebenen mit bis zu 20 "Fächern" finden so 280 Fahrzeuge ihren Platz. Die Logistik im Turm läuft über je zwei Ein- und Auslagerungsschleusen vollelektronisch. Damit ist es möglich, parallel Fahrzeuge in den Turm und aus dem Turm zu bringen.

Architektonisch ist der Turm, wie auch der übrige Teil der Manufaktur, vollflächig mit Glas verkleidet und bietet so einzigartige Perspektiven auf das Endergebnis unserer Arbeit. Der Großteil der Fahrzeuge, die im Turm lagern, wird auch in der Gläsernen Manufaktur an die neuen Besitzer übergeben. Die anderen e-Golf* gelangen nach den erforderlichen Transportschutzmaßnahmen über die Logistikwege zu Handelspartnern weltweit.

Da in Dresden nicht nur der e-Golf* von Kunden abgeholt werden kann, wird der aufmerksame Beobachter auch das ein oder andere Volkswagen Modell im Fahrzeugturm entdecken können. Denn auch Kunden für andere Volkswagen Modelle können ihr Neufahrzeug in Dresden im Rahmen einer emotionalen Abholung in Empfang nehmen. Die Fahrzeuge werden dann natürlich nicht hier produziert, sondern eigens dafür nach Dresden geliefert.

*e-Golf: Stromverbrauch, kWh/100 km: kombiniert 14,1 (17-Zoll) - 13,2 (16-Zoll); CO2-Emission kombiniert, g/km: 0; Effizienzklasse: A+