Point of interest: Production

Unique and unmistakable

The core element of production is the "shingle belt". It has only the cycle control in common with ordinary assembly lines. What is meant by this is the division of production into stations such as marriage (engine assembly) and window installation. The surface of the shingle belt, which is designed as a circular belt, consists of 29 individual links. They are completely covered with parquet. The vehicles are carried along on them by means of adjustable lifting tables. Due to the parquet flooring and the clearly arranged assembly parts in the "shopping baskets", the production is similar to a workshop of the trade.

The vehicles are assembled on two floors in the Transparent Factory. In order to vertically connect these two levels on the one hand, but on the other hand - in a horizontal direction - to complement the production on the respective level, an electric overhead conveyor (EHB) is used parallel to the shed conveyor. This track is used to transport the vehicles to special assembly workstations, such as refuelling, and to the second floor: Here the complete vehicle floats from level 2 through the building ceiling to level 1. It is then lowered with a jack.

Through the division into precise assembly cycles, the clean production, the optimally trained manufacture employees and the quality assurance, Volkswagen in Dresden achieves a production quality at the highest level. The individual production cycles were consistently tailored to the people in the manufactory. For example, the manipulator is a helper that can be manoeuvred on rollers, enabling the employees to adjust large parts, such as the complete dashboard, with millimetre precision for installation in the bodywork.

The Transparent Factory in Dresden is developing into a test site for testing innovative technologies within the Volkswagen Group, with the central idea being the automation of complex work steps within assembly. The special challenge here is that testing and development in the Transparent Factory is carried out during the ongoing production process of the e-Golf*.

e-Golf: Power consumption in kWh/100 km: 14.1 combined (17-inch) - 13,2 (16-inch); CO2 emissions in g/km: 0 (combined); efficiency class: A+

*e-Golf: Power consumption combined 13,8 - 12,9 kWh/100 km - CO2 emissions in g/km: 0 combined - efficiency class: A+

Erlebnispunkt | Fahrzeugfertigung

Einmalig und unverwechselbar

Click here for the english version.

Kernelement der Fertigung ist das „Schuppenband“. Mit gewöhnlichen Fließbändern hat es nur noch die Taktsteuerung gemeinsam. Gemeint ist damit die Aufteilung der Fertigung in Stationen wie etwa die Hochzeit (Motormontage) und den Scheibeneinbau. Die Oberfläche des als Rundlauf angelegten Schuppenbandes besteht aus 29 Einzelgliedern. Sie sind vollständig mit Parkett belegt. Auf ihnen werden die Fahrzeuge mittels verstellbarer Hubtische mitgeführt. Durch den Parkettboden und die übersichtlich sortierten Montageteile in den „Warenkörben“ gleicht die Produktion einer Werkstatt des Handwerks.

Die Fahrzeuge werden in der Gläsernen Manufaktur auf zwei Etagen montiert. Um einerseits diese zwei Ebenen vertikal miteinander zu verbinden, anderseits aber – in horizontaler Richtung – die Fertigung auf der jeweiligen Ebene zu ergänzen, kommt parallel zum Schuppenband eine Elektro-Hänge-Bahn (EHB) zum Einsatz. Über diese Bahn werden die Fahrzeuge zu speziellen Montage-Arbeitsplätzen, etwa dem Betanken, und in das zweite Stockwerk befördert: Hier schwebt das komplette Fahrzeug von Ebene 2 durch die Gebäudedecke in Ebene 1 ein. Dann wird es mit einem Heber abgesenkt.

Durch die Einteilung in präzise Montagetakte, die saubere Fertigung, die optimal geschulten Manufaktur-Mitarbeiter und die Qualitätssicherung erreicht Volkswagen in Dresden eine Fertigungsqualität auf höchstem Niveau. Die einzelnen Fertigungstakte wurden konsequent auf die Menschen in der Manufaktur zugeschnitten. So ist etwa der Manipulator ein auf Rollen manövrierbarer Helfer, mit dem die Beschäftigten große Teile, wie z. B. die komplette Armaturentafel, millimetergenau für den Einbau in der Karosserie justieren können.

Die Gläserne Manufaktur Dresden entwickelt sich im Volkswagen Konzern zum Test-Standort für die Erprobung innovativer Technologien weiter.Die Leitidee ist die Automatisierung von komplexen Arbeitsschritten innerhalb der Montage. Die besondere Herausforderung dabei: In der Gläsernen Manufaktur erfolgt die Erprobung und Entwicklung im laufenden Produktionsprozess des e-Golf*.

Jetzt teilen

*e-Golf: Strom Kraftstoffverbrauch kombiniert 13,8 - 12,9 kWh/100 km - Strom CO2 Emissionen kombiniert 0 g/km - Effizienzklasse A+